• October 02, 2024, 04:38:17 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: How bad an idea is it to purchase an energica bike as first serious bike?  (Read 1637 times)

aachou

• View Profile

I'm a beginner.  I purchased a City Slicker for commuting to the train station a few months ago and it's been a blast.  I also just passed the MSF beginner course and plan to purchase a more powerful bike (capable of going highway speeds) in a few months.  As a personal thing, I'm looking at electric bikes only.

After a bunch of googling, I landed on pretty much Zero SR or Energica Ego/Ribelle.  However, I feel the Energica offers a lot more as a bike without being that much more expensive....so I'd rather skip straight to an Energica bike.  The power of these bikes don't scare me because I'm aware of my limits and plan to take things very slowly.  However, I've read that the Energica bikes are in general very heavy and I'm afraid it will make handling/turning tricky.

Given how novice I am, how stupid would I be to purchase an energica bike as my first serious bike?  Is the handling/turning as difficult as my mind is making it out to be?  If you believe Energica as a first serious bike is immensely bad, I would be super grateful for advice on other electric bikes and why

NEW2elec

• View Profile
Re: How bad an idea is it to purchase an energica bike as first serious bike?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2019, 10:33:52 AM »

First off test ride anything your thinking of getting first if you can.

I think Energica is making some great bikes and as a bike for riding past your learning stage you would love it.
We can't see into the future though.  They are a rather heavy bike but you have to decide if it's too much for you.