• September 24, 2024, 01:27:19 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Tesla charge adapter  (Read 3391 times)

Zluz

• View Profile
Tesla charge adapter
« on: November 09, 2018, 03:42:14 AM »

I can confirm that the Tesla High-Power Wall Connector (HPWC) and the Universal Mobile Connector (UMC) can be used to charge an Energica Ego using a TeslaTap adapter.
I believe that since it works with the HPWC it would also work for destination chargers (which may be the same thing).
This would not work on a Tesla Supercharger.

This is the adapter I tested was the TeslaTap 40 amp:
http://www.umc-j1772.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=102

This is an alternate adapter but I have no experience with it:
https://shop.quickchargepower.com/JDapter-Stub-Tesla-Charge-Station-Adaptor-JDPTRSTB.htm

Shadow

• Global Moderator
  • 130,000mi electric since 2016
    • View Profile
Re: Tesla charge adapter
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2018, 04:52:22 AM »

Great report glad to hear!

The TeslaTap adapter at UMC-1772 website you've just mentioned is the same unit that earned a positive review from the Tesla Time News / Now You Know producers:

I've heard some bickering and of bad business deals in the effort to get these kinds of adapters to market; If you've had a *bad* experience with these type of adapters please comment and include who you bought it from and what the issue was with it. I'm not sure if it matters who you buy the adapter from because so far as I am aware the parts are all being machined from the same design spec.

Zluz

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2018, 05:14:25 AM »

Ooh, I hadn't heard about the bad business deals. I might have thought twice about the purchase if I thought there was any risk.