• September 30, 2024, 11:29:23 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New member, 2015 Zero SR ordered  (Read 2150 times)

MichaelJohn

• View Profile
New member, 2015 Zero SR ordered
« on: December 03, 2014, 09:17:17 AM »

Hello all,

A bit of background: When I was in college (many years ago) I studied for a year in France and while I was there I bought a Peugeot moped and had an absolute blast with it. That lit the fire. When I got back to the States I bought a Honda motorcycle but after finishing school I sold the bike and put thoughts of owning another motorbike on the back burner while I got on with my career, got married and raised a couple of kids. However the itch to get back on 2 wheels has never left and I decided it was time to get back into it. I wanted to start slowly so I bought a scooter (a Piaggio BV 350, a wonderfull scooter with surprising power) thinking that I could concentrate on reacquiring my riding skills before getting a motorcycle. Well, it turns out that I really like not having to shift gears anymore so that got me started looking for automatic bikes. I quickly found out that there really isn't too much out there...larger scooters which I didn't want and the Honda CTX 700 DCT which apparently is a great bike but it's, well, slow. You all know where this is going. I discovered electric bikes and once I realized how good they have gotten in just the last few years I got really interested. It turns out there is a Zero dealer in my area so I called them and they had a 2014 SR that they invited me to test ride. I hopped on my scooter and headed over for a spin. Well, spin is the right word because my head was spinning after the first time I opened it up in Sport Mode. The acceleration was breathtaking...it actually scared me and I am used to fast vehicles being an acceleration junkie (I have a 56