• October 21, 2024, 09:26:26 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: EV head from Ireland  (Read 735 times)

Spoonman

• View Profile
EV head from Ireland
« on: May 07, 2013, 10:46:10 PM »

Howdy all,

I'm an electronic engineer in Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland for the last 10 years and I've been interested in EV's for the last 4-5.

There's a Revai in the family since 2009 and I purchased a Nissan Leaf in May of last year and have clocked up ~32000 miles since then. Love the car to bits and couldn't go back to ICE for the commute. We've a pretty good charging infrastructure here (relatively speaking) but nevertheless, I've also built my own EVSE which will autoselect between L1 and L2 charging based on cable detection, and instruct the car to charge as appropriate. I've been using that in work about 3 days a week for quite a while now and I'm pleased to say that it works incredibly well.

In any case, I'm also a major motorcycle head and have in the stable an '87 NC24 which is currently broken down for restoration, and a '98 TL1000S which is more mods and custom parts that it is original at this stage (and I'm not done yet).

My reason for joining this forum is that I'm considering a TLS/TLR ( or some other big twin sportsbike - basically whichever chassis can handle the reduction in torsional stiffness better) EV conversion and so when I happened upon this place I figured it might be a good spot to make some aquaintance and pick some brains for the common speedbumps in drivetrain specification and performance.