• September 22, 2024, 10:28:51 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: New 2022 Fx with strange noise?  (Read 365 times)

Jyyym

• View Profile
New 2022 Fx with strange noise?
« on: November 07, 2023, 01:56:46 AM »

Hello everyone!

I’ve been riding ICE motorcycles for 23 years and just took the plunge and bought an 2022 7.2 FX. I love the thing so far! I am a bit worried about a noise I can hear at low speeds, I have sent a clip to the dealer but it is a super small dealer and a bit clueless, the only one in the country… with that in mind, here is the link to a 15 second clip where the noise is pretty obvious, should I be worried??

https://youtube.com/shorts/w2HmlJMW3hY?si=A5OwaUQ5HvLkH7ld

Thanks so much!

TheRan

• View Profile
Re: New 2022 Fx with strange noise?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2023, 02:28:30 AM »

Sounds like something is rubbing. The first question is does it happen with the bike turned off? If so then it's mechanical, unlike the white noise kind of sound you hear which is part of how the motor keeps track of its position. The next thing to try would be sliding the rear wheel forward so you can remove the belt, then you can spin the wheel and the motor separately and determine which is the source of the noise. If the noise goes away then your belt was rubbing somewhere.

Jyyym

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2023, 02:50:01 AM »

Thanks for the response, I did try both suggestions earlier today, I’m almost certain that it can be heard on both situations, when off and pushing it is a bit difficult to detect but I do think it is there, same without the belt, it is not as loud, I guess since there is no load on it. By the way, there is no wiggle or play on the front sprocket/pulley. The belt is centered on both sides and the tension is 65hz.

Zelidar

• SR/F Premium 2019
    • View Profile