• September 28, 2024, 11:19:49 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Gearing Change Impacts  (Read 1246 times)

Dryer667

• View Profile
Gearing Change Impacts
« on: August 14, 2022, 10:55:44 PM »

I just put down a deposit on a Esseesse9+ RS so kicking off the delivery countdown (I have been told Dec/Jan). We will see.

In the meantime, what have folks noticed about the impacts of gearing change on both range and speedo accuracy? I went for the RS just because but am wondering about the impacts of the drop in front sprocket teeth. I have been riding for 20 years and changed gearing many times on IC bikes but Id love to learn more about how gearing changes impact efficiency on a EV.

Demoni

• Global Moderator
  • Energica Service Manager
    • View Profile
    • Energica
Re: Gearing Change Impacts
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2022, 05:06:47 AM »

Congrats on pulling the trigger on a EsseEsse9!

Regarding final drive ratios. Electric motors have a wider RPM range (compared to ICE) where they are most efficient, small changes to the gearing ratio will not have a massive impact on range. The motor is only spinning a few hundred RPM more with a 15 tooth front sprocket (RS) vs the standard bikes 16 tooth. However the acceleration difference is quite noticeable on the RS models. I can confirm that large changes to the gearing ratio will result in a noticeable change in range. I swapped the stock 16/44 sprockets on a 13.4kWh EGO to 15/50. Motor speed at 70mph increased by around 2,000 RPM which would equate to ~100mph with stock gearing. Range dropped by about 20%.

There are changes in software to account for the gearing adjustment of the RS bike. Please note that changing the gear ratio to something other than stock will result in an inaccurate calculation of the bikes speed.

Dryer667

• View Profile