• September 27, 2024, 07:24:05 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Charging for Dummies  (Read 1717 times)

wadejesu

• View Profile
Charging for Dummies
« on: July 10, 2022, 11:20:26 PM »

I'm new to battery powered bikes , don't have a Ribelle yet, seen a ton of videos on charging that show how to connect to bike, But what is at the other end of cable? Does bike come with some sort of AC wall plug, Is there a home Fast charge unit that can be purchased? I guess the Energica's have a CCS1 connector. I have seen chargers on ebay for around 400 USD that have J1772 and CCS1, not sure if they will work. What is Level 1, 2 , 3 charging.

Any insite would be appreciated

MikeL

• View Profile
Re: Charging for Dummies
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2022, 01:42:06 AM »

I'm new to battery powered bikes , don't have a Ribelle yet, seen a ton of videos on charging that show how to connect to bike, But what is at the other end of cable? Does bike come with some sort of AC wall plug, Is there a home Fast charge unit that can be purchased? I guess the Energica's have a CCS1 connector. I have seen chargers on ebay for around 400 USD that have J1772 and CCS1, not sure if they will work. What is Level 1, 2 , 3 charging.

Any insite would be appreciated

Energica motorcycles can utilize all 3 charging levels, Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3.

First thing is plugs, J1772 (Level 1 and 2) and CCS1 (Level 3). CCS1 has a J1772 built in. This allows you to use only the J1772 aspect on your motorcycle. J1772 is Level 1 and 2 Charging. CCS1 is Level 3 charging. When you use CCS1 you are using both the J1772 port (for communication) and the lower DC pins for power (at least the way I understand it). CCS stands for Combined Charging System.