• April 24, 2024, 11:54:48 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: What does Zero battery degradation look like? **Resolved by Zero!**  (Read 3588 times)

inhibernation

• View Profile

I may be rebuilding a 40-year-old bike in the living room, but I'm still learning the intricacies of EM's.

I'd forgotten to ask the question at purchase (dealer seemed quite new to Zeros), but have been wondering what battery degradation over time would look like on my Zero.  Visible? (SOC on dash decreasing over time)   Or invisible? (SOC always 100%, but actual range decreasing)

It's a 2016 DSR demo purchased May 2017 with 600mi.  For the first few months, it would charge to 100%.

Since then, the SOC would decrease by slightly more than 1% per month.  By 3,000mi, it would charge to 92%.

At 5,000mi now, it'll charge to 85% and if I re-plug it in, it'll click on and off for 30min to get to 86%.   Starting about 500mi ago, when it's finished charging, the entire the dash will start flashing on and off with the ABS being consistent (below).

I've been completely satisfied with the performance of the bike on the road, but this charging behavior is unusual, right?.  The commute is only 12mi round trip, so I haven't really evaluated whether total true range has changed.  Checked the error codes:  25, 45, 48, 49, 45  go to 0000 once the kickstand's up; seems good.

This is today's result, re-plugged once and still connected to wall charger:

And how it looks when charged.  The time-to-charge timer seems to still expect a 100% goal, but with mine quitting at 85% now, it'll stop 30-90min earlier than that time and start flashing like this:

What does the community think?  Do I need to see a dealer even though it's driving great?
« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 02:38:38 AM by inhibernation »
2016 Zero DSR, 2006 HD Sportster 883, 1978 BMW R100