• April 23, 2024, 10:11:18 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Options for rebuilding a 2010 zero DS  (Read 3854 times)

Zero builder

• View Profile
Options for rebuilding a 2010 zero DS
« on: October 24, 2018, 03:49:23 AM »

Hello,
I am completely new to the electric motorcycle world, but highly enthusiastic.  I just grabbed hold of a 2010 zero that has a dead battery and the motor removed.  All the wiring is still in tact and the bike itself is in great shape!

My son and I decided it was time to do a project together!  This is it.

I am trying to get a handle on just what motor options there are out there for this thing.  Additionally, what controller did this come with and what batter/motor can work with the controller already installed?  Or, do I just need to start over completely and go with a battery/controller/contactor/motor that all work together.  I have not done a search on this forum as of yet, but if someone has a string that I should read, please feel free to cut and past or just direct me accordingly.  My presumption is that there are better motors to choose from now that eight years have passed, but the controller may not handle updated motors and different voltage inputs all that well.

I guess I am starting from scratch.  I'll take any advice.

Thanks in advance!

Infant

• View Profile
Re: Options for rebuilding a 2010 zero DS
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2018, 06:45:16 PM »

I believe the 2010 comes either with the PERM 132 motor or the Agni 95R, both are DC permanent magnet motors with brushes.

Your battery pack should contain a contactor, but the stock one is only rated at 200A.

I believe they all have the same AXE controller: AXE4855.

What exact model do you have? Any pictures?

WilliamKristen

• WilliamKristen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2018, 10:40:01 AM »