ElectricMotorcycleForum.com

  • August 20, 2017, 06:28:03 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Using Zero app while riding  (Read 418 times)

zenemc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Using Zero app while riding
« on: May 26, 2017, 09:27:34 PM »

Had questions about using the Custom mode while riding, particularly: To ride with customized settings, after having selected your preferences with the phone app, do you have to have the app active and the phone unlocked while riding? Do you have to set the phone so it doesn't lock (sleep) after a period of time? Does the app take over as the default display and have to be out and mounted while riding to have your customized settings work while riding? Thanks!
Logged

anton

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Using Zero app while riding
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2017, 09:43:22 PM »

Had questions about using the Custom mode while riding, particularly: To ride with customized settings, after having selected your preferences with the phone app, do you have to have the app active and the phone unlocked while riding? Do you have to set the phone so it doesn't lock (sleep) after a period of time? Does the app take over as the default display and have to be out and mounted while riding to have your customized settings work while riding? Thanks!
Once you set your custom mode settings, they are stored in your bike and you don't need to have app open. Custom settings will stay the same even after you turn the bike off and on.
Logged

zenemc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Using Zero app while riding
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2017, 09:53:30 PM »

That's what I was hoping - thanks. Since my customized settings get stored in the bike, do I only need to have the phone present while riding if I want to take advantage of the app's displays? Also, when I recharge the bike (which resets the trips, etc.), do my custom settings remain or do they have to be reentered? Thanks!
Logged

clay.leihy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
Re: Using Zero app while riding
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2017, 11:15:56 PM »

That's what I was hoping - thanks. Since my customized settings get stored in the bike, do I only need to have the phone present while riding if I want to take advantage of the app's displays? Also, when I recharge the bike (which resets the trips, etc.), do my custom settings remain or do they have to be reentered? Thanks!
Custom settings remain after charging, even after changing phones (which I just did).

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk
Logged
Clay
DoD #2160,6

DPsSRnSD

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Using Zero app while riding
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2017, 11:16:52 PM »

...  do I only need to have the phone present while riding if I want to take advantage of the app's displays?
Yes
Also, when I recharge the bike (which resets the trips, etc.), do my custom settings remain or do they have to be reentered?
The only two things I know of that get reset when you recharge are Trip 1 and Trip AV, and then only if you recharge after running the bike below 90%.
Logged
2016 Zero SR

gyrocyclist

  • Zero. Because motorcycles should be seen and not heard.
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Using Zero app while riding
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2017, 04:19:43 AM »

You can through away your phone after setting custom mode, and settings will remain (as others have said).
But, after picking my bike up after a 4K mile checkup, I had to reset the custom mode. Apparently whatever the did (upgraded the software?) invalidated my custom setting. No big deal -- just something of which you should be aware.
Logged

Shadow

  • Tip Overs: 10
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 595
  • Zero 2016 DSR ZF13.0
    • View Profile
Re: Using Zero app while riding
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2017, 10:20:49 AM »

You can through away your phone after setting custom mode, and settings will remain (as others have said).
But, after picking my bike up after a 4K mile checkup, I had to reset the custom mode. Apparently whatever the did (upgraded the software?) invalidated my custom setting. No big deal -- just something of which you should be aware.

Confirmed that MBB firmware update resets custom mode settings.

Also note that for the 2016 DSR at least, the Zero app does not show Trip 2 correctly, nor does the reset trip performance feature do anything. You can reset Trip 2 using the dash, and the dash will display a correct Trip 2.

The app is in bad shape. If you're great at writing apps then see if you can do any better, I'm sure you wouldn't get any help but you probably won't see any hate for doing it either.
Logged

skoleskibe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Using Zero app while riding
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2017, 01:58:09 PM »

Would be nice to have max speeds down to eg 30km/h to use it as speed pilot.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

42Cliffside

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Using Zero app while riding
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2017, 04:05:07 PM »

Would be nice to have max speeds down to eg 30km/h to use it as speed pilot.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Everyone wants a cruise control

if there is a max speed limit with software already, there is no reason buttons couldn't be pushed to set and re set that max speed.





Logged

Keith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Using Zero app while riding
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2017, 03:55:45 AM »

If you take the belt (or chain) off and run the motor to maximum speed, it is not smooth, there is a pulsing in the control signal. I think this is because the drive is actually a torque control, not a speed control. so when the speed is too high the torque signal is reduced but it can't keep a constant speed. So apparently it isn't that easy to get cruise control.
Logged
2016 Zero FX, 2014 KTM 1190

MajorMajor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Using Zero app while riding
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2017, 11:23:49 PM »

Eco mode has a max speed, that's very similar to cruise control already.
Logged
Pages: [1]