• April 27, 2024, 06:12:39 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Wobbly front tire  (Read 895 times)

yhafting

• View Profile
Wobbly front tire
« on: August 07, 2016, 01:56:19 AM »

Today i had my front tire replaced on my 2015 SR.

This being my first bike, i wasn't completely sure of the significance- but since i got my licence 6 weeks ago, i have had a growing suspicion that the front tire wasn't all as it should.

I have had notable wobble cruising between 50-80 km/h- kind of enough that it seems best to keep both hands on the steering bar at all times. At higher speeds 110km/h+ the vibration has been notable, but since i have had little experience with motorbikes except for a steep learning curve on the school ICE bike- i had little experience to tell me something was wrong. All i can say is that i would not be comfident pushing the bike much past the maximum speed limit of 110km/h. (Not saying i haven't been above that, but never for long time).

I talked about this growing suspicion to my dealer, and he took the bike for a test ride, and concluded that it was not the way it should be. So today i got a new Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact front tire, which does seem as glued to the ground compared to the previous. There is not much vibration at all- so much less that i guess it will have to excercise stronger self control to keep within the legal limits ;).
That is- i can now go confidently past 110km/h, and even let go completely of the steering at 65 km/h without the feeling that this would probably end horribly wrong (This makes waving to fellow motorcyclists a lot easier...)