• April 24, 2024, 05:06:43 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Charge tank for Zero DS 2014?  (Read 1049 times)

wijnand71

• View Profile
Charge tank for Zero DS 2014?
« on: July 14, 2016, 12:13:04 AM »

Hi everybody, I'm new here and I will introduce myself briefly. I am Wijnand and almost a Zero owner. I will receive my first Zero DS after the summer holidays. Its a second hand (2500km) and a dealer demo model with a 11.4 lithium battery. It looks really brand new :-)
I have rode a few years a electric scooter (45km/h) and loved the electric drive from the first mile. Now I go for a higher speed and bigger range. Being a electronics engineer myself I have been spending hours to read all topics on this forum to know and learn a lot of how this bike works. Because I'm gonna use my zero a lot on its range limit I started to investigate the use and availability of the charge tank and/or the DigiNow charger. But whats not completely clear to me is why the charge tank is only available on models from 2015 and later, and the power tank is available on 2014 models though... The dealer couldn't inform me about this. What is the difference in electronics from models 2013 and 2014?
« Last Edit: July 14, 2016, 12:25:10 AM by wijnand71 »

BrianTRice@gmail.com

• Unofficial Zero Manual Editor
  • Nerdy Adventurer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Charge tank for Zero DS 2014?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2016, 05:21:02 AM »

From the Supercharger's perspective, only the capacity of the auxiliary charging circuit changed (ATM30 fuse in the manual, 30A for 2013 and I think 60A for 2014 and ~100A for following years). The Supercharger drops in physically, is then connected up by the port or controller, and is usable after calibration checks. But it doesn't integrate with the onboard charger or play close with Zero's systems.