• March 29, 2024, 12:45:50 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: 2014-2015 Zero battery life estimates  (Read 2587 times)

Richard230

• View Profile
2014-2015 Zero battery life estimates
« on: March 18, 2015, 04:07:55 AM »

I have been collecting motorcycle brochures since the mid-1960's (I have a lot of them).  So naturally, I have been picking up Zero brochures each year. Going through the  2014 and 2015 Zero brochures, I notice that the specification for "estimated pack life to 80%" includes the word "(city)". While the battery life estimates likely will no doubt far exceed the life of the Zero motorcycle chassis and motor, I wonder what the significance is of the "city" in the estimate?  The logical reason for that word is that the battery pack life will be less when the bike is ridden at normal highway speeds.  I wonder what the battery life will be when the bike is used the way most owners do? ???

Who could possibly go the estimated distances at "city" speeds, anyway?
Richard's motorcycle collection:  2018 16.6 kWh Zero S, 2009 BMW F650GS, 2020 KTM 390 Duke, 2002 Yamaha FZ1 (FZS1000N) and a 1978 Honda Kick 'N Go Senior.

RNM

• View Profile
Re: 2014-2015 Zero battery life estimates
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2015, 04:23:16 AM »

I think it's "city" range * number of battery cycles * 90%...

steven_first

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2015, 07:28:07 PM »

An exact answer from a Zero tech when I asked about battery life:

Quote from: Zero
the way we test and get the number for those battery life’s if by doing full battery cycles. It is strictly based on the size of the battery versus home many miles of range that power pack will produce times the amount of full battery cycles it can go through.

Richard230

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2015, 07:53:45 PM »