• April 24, 2024, 09:48:29 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Batteries AH what the?  (Read 2797 times)

Gregski

• View Profile
Batteries AH what the?
« on: April 21, 2009, 10:39:48 AM »

OK, so I started learning about batteries, and some basics, standard car batteries are about Cranking Amps (bad) we need ones that are about Amp Hours so we need Deep Cycle Batteries, (good).  Lead Acid Batteries is what I can afford, so let's talk about those.  I plan on using six 12 volt 100 amp hour AH batteries and a 72 volt 100 amp motor.

First of all who came up with this crazy amp hour rate system based on 20 hours, I mean what's the significance of 20 hours.  It's not even a day's worth.  Then some provide amp hours in 25 hour increments, other's in 5 hour.  Now somewhere I read you take the 100 AH divide it by 20 hours and you get 5 amps per hour.  Though some battery specs show a different 1 hour rate then if you divide it by the 20 hour rate, what gives?

Now since I will be connecting these batteries in series (plus to negative, plus to negative, plus to negative, etc) the volts will add up 12 + 12 + 12... = 72 volts.  However from what I gathered, in a series the amps stay the same so they will not add up, so I will still have a 100 amp system at the 20 hour rating.

So does this mean if I plan to ride the bike for 1 hour the motor will be sucking in 100 amps and therefor running at it's theoretical peak performance, aka providing 100% of its horse power?  Assuming somehow I gauge it / throttle it in such a way.

To follow up on this question, if I ride bike for 2 hours will it be using 50 amps per hour, and running at 50% horse power? Assuming somehow I gauge it / throttle it in such a way.

Bogan

• View Profile
Re: Batteries AH what the?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2009, 11:16:11 AM »