• March 29, 2024, 01:20:43 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Zero S-9 Battery breakin  (Read 1970 times)

sgmdudley

• View Profile
Zero S-9 Battery breakin
« on: April 25, 2012, 03:49:01 AM »

Just joined today. Just purchased S-9 ( in transit). 24 April 2012
I have been working with E-Vehicles since 2007. 1st and 2nd scooters were ZAP Zapinos.
Limited range and speed. Today I am the main E-Vehicle Tech at a E-Vehicle business. I
mainly assemble, service and repair E-Vehicle (at this time, all Electric bikes).
We have always advised customers to go easy for a week, limited speed and range, with a
complete charge after each ride.
Today the service dept where I purchased my S-9 says we are to ride on the first day until
below 25% battery, then charge overnight. Repeat for 4 full discharges to less then 25% to
fully condition the battery.
What is the recommended procedure?

rotoiti

• View Profile
Re: Zero S-9 Battery breakin
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2012, 04:06:59 AM »

I am not sure ZF9 battery needs any "break-in". The battery module has an integrated management computer that optimizes the battery performance at all times. I have not seen any notes in the manual about the break-in either. Charge up and ride.
2014 Zero SR, 2012 Zero DS ZF9 (gone)

Richard230

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2012, 04:39:53 AM »

I haven't run my battery pack down below 60% so far and I have now ridden my ZF9 a total of 900 miles.  I haven't heard anything about the 2012 models' battery needing any sort of a break-in and none seems to be mentioned in the owner's manual.
Richard's motorcycle collection:  2018 16.6 kWh Zero S, 2009 BMW F650GS, 2020 KTM 390 Duke, 2002 Yamaha FZ1 (FZS1000N) and a 1978 Honda Kick 'N Go Senior.

CliC

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 10:18:58 AM »